top of page
  • Writer's picturekatherinemello8

A Solid Week for BJJ

Updated: Jan 12, 2023

23 outubro 2022




This week was a good week:


COMPETITION - 15 outubro - Del Mar Fairgrounds (Jiu Jitsu World League)


By now, I suspect it's pretty obvious that I like competing. I'm not sure if it's the competing against other people or the competing against myself that I like more. There's nothing like a just-you-and-her-on-the-mat setting to really measure how much you've learned. And there's nothing like a competition to help you learn more, too. And learn I did. Specifically, I had four takeaways in terms of things I'd like to improve:

  1. How to prevent people from pulling me all the way into closed guard when they inevitably pull guard. So far in my competition matches, there's been 100% rate (8 for 8) of people pulling guard on me. As much as I really do want to get decent at takedowns (and, yes, I do plan on making my brother teach me when I see him over the holidays), I think it's even more important for me to learn to stuff a leg or whatever it takes to prevent that guard from closing.

  2. Finish a triangle - In one of my matches, I was losing by two points and had a triangle locked. Unfortunately I forgot the key part where I move the arm over to the opposite side. I was also missing a few other details. But honestly I was still proud of myself for even getting there.

  3. Switch to an arm bar when the triangle fails.

  4. Guard passes - As of right now, the knee slice is the only one I feel competent at.


Things I felt good about:


1. I got two submissions! I won't reveal the submission because, you know, I compete at a high level and my readership is off the charts, so my career really can't afford to reveal these things, but it felt good. (Though I will say the submission-that-shall-not-be-mentioned still feels kind of like cheating to me.) I ended up going 2 - 2. The two losses were by two points and to the same girl. Overall I just felt good about not getting annihilated by anyone.

2. I felt strong. I considered -- and tried for a month or so -- to cut down to <130 lbs with a gi, but my body was feeling really weak and I decided it wasn't worth it. It's just for fun, after all.

3. My mental game felt strong, too. Being well-fed and fueled up probably helped. (As did, I imagine, several years of track and cross country pre-race nerves.) Not to mention being surrounded by my supportive teammates (shoutout Alex, Caitlin, Vanessa, Eric, Joe, Eddie, Nadeem, Amer!) and Professor Leo, too. Marcus had my back mat-side too, though I found out that I'm really bad at keeping my ears open when I'm competing. I also learned that early 2000s is my jam for warming up / getting in the right headspace.


FORMAÇÃO


As much as drinking from the garden hose can be good for learning, I still have a yearning for the fundamentals. And I got a good taste of that during this week's training.


In Professor Jim's gi classes, we went over opening the guard, the over-under pass, and escapes from the back.





In Coach Marcus's no-gi classes, we reviewed the hip-bump sweep plus two attacks from a "failed" hip-bump sweep (triangle and arm bar).





UMA PEQUENA PROMOÇÃO


This time it was Coach Marcus who awarded the stripe since Professor Leo has been out of town.






32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page